Yad Vashem Holocaust memorial

Elijah Interfaith Summer School, Sunday 31st July 2022, Day 1 Week 2

Gordie Jackson
3 min readAug 27, 2022
The Cattle truck / gjphoto August 2022

Was I aware I was in a valley? Did I know what the inscription said on the arch as we entered Yad Vashem? It was Peta who told us that the words were taken from Ezekiel.

“The hand of the Lord was upon me, and carried out in the spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones.. Thus said the Lord God unto these bones: Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and you shall live.” ( Ezekiel 37: 1,5)

‘Prophecy’ was something that I hadn't considered within Judaism yet this was not the first time I was to hear it. Prophecy gives hope for a better future particularly when the current time is trying.

I had heard many sermons on The Valley of Dry Bones but the moment that I heard the meaning of the inscription I could see. What a vivid picture, of the devastation of the Holocaust, symbolised in dry bones yet here we stood witnesses to the survival of the Jewish people.

May the videos and the photos speak. g

Poetry at the train

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.