The day my pup ate my ice cream

Days that stand out

Gordie Jackson
1 min readFeb 10, 2024
photo: Portadown News 1974 The pup and I at the Corcrain dog show

I am three years old soon to start school after my fourth birthday. It was the summer that my 4th birthday would fall. I liked to run about the cul de sac where we lived. There were fields at the front of the houses and a road going nowhere at the back so it was safe to run. I would run with and after my dog and any other dog that happened to be running.

That day I was running with my dog but got distracted by the sound of the ‘ice cream van’. I went and got myself ‘a poke’ (ice cream). It was while I was about this that someone told me that my dog had escaped from the garden. Armed with my ice cream I went looking for Sandy. I found him and when I did I wrapped him in my arms. Of course, that meant one of my hands holding him had in it my ice cream.

Then someone shouted, “Gordon the dog is eating your ice cream.”

I remember being annoyed but as I remember now I often laugh at the sight of that young boy and his dog licking his ice cream.

g

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.