Step 5. Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

Gordie Jackson
2 min readJan 15, 2018

--

Sundown, Southsea, Hampshire 1989 / gjphoto

It looks like I answered step 5 yesterday in responding to step 4. I did ponder on the notion of a moral inventory. I guess we all have different ‘moral inventories’. How do we decide what is morally right or morally wrong?

Like most things, it will be formed by the culture, community and family into which we were born. The big guilt issue for me as a teenager was when I discovered I could have a sexual experience all by myself. It was safe as it involved no-one else but the words of Eashoa always came to mind after the event, “If a man looks at a woman in lust he has committed adultery.”

I could imagine if I were a Catholic at confession this would probably top my list of ‘worst sins’. I also could speak ill of my rivals though that would be number 2.

I still struggle with the recorded words of Eashoa’s, can we really live a life wherein we only love and never lust? Perhaps the lust for the alcoholic is alcohol. There are so many groups based on the 12 steps programme illustrating the many battles against all kinds of lust.

Anonymous — why? I guess it is to give a voice above our egos that would want to silence us and prevent us from the shame of admitting our weakness.

Eve may have eaten the apple and Adam may have shared in her lust but probably each of us has had that moment of temptation in which we have fallen headlong into our own. When we hit the bottom we then need to find a way back.

But what did we find when we fell headlong into our temptation? We found what it was to be a human. To err is human to forgive is divine.

g

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.