I am like a spaceship interacting with the earth

Gordie Jackson
2 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Photo by Jacek Dylag on Unsplash

I was filling a bottle when suddenly the nozzle started directly the water at me. “What’s going on?”

Upon further investigation, something has become faulty. I detached it and descaled it hoping the problem would be solved, it wasn’t. I managed to switch the flow which made it less of a problem but the problem remained.

I have come to realise that I exist in my own internal world. It is as if I am a planet that interacts with Earth, maybe a spaceship. On the whole, we have a good relationship except when external things go wrong such as this nozzle. I have to assure my planet’s security system that we are not under attack it is just another one of those occasions when things fail. You see somehow within my planet all is perfect until something external upsets it.

‘The Problem-Solving Ministry (PSM)’ of my planet always wants to sort things fast to restore perfection. They take over as if this is an emergency that needs attention and if not solved my planet is at risk. They occupy the mind where central control is located and refuse to move until the risk is reduced. They mean well even if it is an overreaction.

I find myself sent to the Plumber’s merchant. The Merchant can’t locate a replacement until they know who made the product. I sent a photo to ‘the Handyman’ who fitted it to see it he recalls. The PSM seem to have relaxed knowing we can live with the temporary fix and that we are actively seeking a replacement part.

Meanwhile, the ‘To do’ department has taken their place in Central Control and wants to sort out the car insurance renewal. They can’t understand why the Insurer has increased the premium by 30% and they are debating whether we have the energy to look around. The representative from the company doesn't seem to know the answer but at least she answered the phone. They speak with her, enter negotiations and agree on a price. I (not sure who I am on this planet) feel relieved. I think I must be the protector, the one charged with ensuring the planet is living life to the full and when it isn't to do what I can to restore it to its state of perfection.

I like the ‘Hospitality department’ as they are always quick to offer me a refreshment after all my efforts.

g

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.