Halfway there

Reflecting on The Hymn of the Pearl

Gordie Jackson
2 min readFeb 9, 2021
Photo by Luca Baggio on Unsplash

“If you go down to Egypt and bring the one pearl, which is in the land of the devouring serpent, You shall put on again that garment set with stones and the robe which lies over it” Hymn of the Pearl

Here we have a condition, “If you go down to Egypt…….” Again Genesis’s Joseph comes to mind who ended up in Egypt not due to the acceptance of a request but due to circumstances and other people’s decisions. I wonder whether knowingly or unknowingly, whether accepting a task or finding ourselves in a situation brings us to the same place? Knowing my personality I would rather it unfold than be told. I probably would never have left the palace so better for me to be catapulted into a situation than to be asked.

There is a mention of a brother perhaps the brother is like me an unwilling participant. This is in contrast to brother Jesus who it is said gave up his position in heaven to come to earth and redeem us.

I choose to think that my Father knew me better than myself and knew it was best that I found myself on the journey rather than be sent out. Perhaps that is why this hymn speaks to me. I actually find solace in knowing that I was sent all along. Halfway through I see my way home and I can see the purpose. The brother in the hymn kind of arrives in the same place he forgets but both brothers awake.

I awake halfway through and remember that I belong to Fire and concealed within these earthly garments fire is. As much as I see the body as a form I also see that my identity is not of this world. My identity has always been and always will be as a son of Fire. In remembering there is nothing more to prove because it already is.

That sorted let us do what has to be done, where is this pearl?

g

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.