Could you fall for a photo? I did!

Gordie Jackson
2 min readNov 11, 2022

--

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Every so often I get a Friend request from someone I don’t know. I usually ignore . I didn’t ignore this one as I noticed the stethoscope around her neck. I noticed her beauty.

I sent one of my security messages, “ We are checking whether your request was your intention or a mistake”. A while later a message came back “ It was my attention”. I was taken. I then entered into an exchange in which ‘whoever this was’ was trying to suss whether I was single or not. Me being me I answer a question with a hundred more so it went on for a while.

I decided after this exchange I would accept the request. I did and took a look around their page. It didn't have your usual Facebook posts. Yes, there were profile photos, very few with others and a small number of friends. I immediately thought there is a scammer at work. I defriended.

For some mad reason the next day I thought I am going to video call them. Of course, they didn't answer and made some excuse as they were working for a charity in the Middle East they couldn’t take a video call.

I did a bit of searching and found 3 profiles of this individual. In the end I blocked them.

But what did it teach me? That I am a sucker for a photo of a pretty woman and the thought that I was being flirted with. What happened to the death of self?

g

--

--

Gordie Jackson

Speaks with a Northern Irish accent, lives in Hertfordshire, England.